The Echo of the Island Life

To walk on the beach again,
To feel the sand massage my tiring soles,
The rhythmic sound of the crashing waves
As the therapeutic sea breeze embraces me

Watching the setting sun from the comfort
Of a typical manus canoe, fishing out at sea.
All the while pleading with chacha we should go home now.
Little did I know, it will only be a memory now on

That familiar atmosphere at home dining with family,
enjoying the home food fish and sago. As native dialects
accompanied with merriment sounding throughout the house.

Life may take me far but my heart is always yours.
Just like my name Samukeu, the second born daughter from the sea.
I will always find my way back to you my island home.

By Sahmukeu 🙂

One thought on “The Echo of the Island Life

Leave a Reply

