The Walk to the River

Along the narrow rocky clay road I walked, barefeet

Surrounded by luscious green rainforest as the chauka’s call echos through

Baring my soles to the earth beneath me

Vibing with mother nature as her aura sends me into tranquility

The familiar scent of the remains of sago starch washed the day before fills the air

My heart smiles with a curve of familiarity on her lips

The rhythmic cascading river greets me as her beauty dances before me

I place my kipwe of water bottles on the age old grey boulder that guards the rock pool

Beautifully sitting on a carpet of green algae

As I nestle myself into the pristine river from the mountains

The canopy above me sparkles as the sunlight shines through

Oh how wonderful it is to be home

By Bschapau

Leave a Reply

