A Moment of Familiarity

In a foreign land I find myself surrounded with unfamiliarity
Submerged in a culture that had awaken all my senses
We all looked the same yet we were all fashioned differently
Bridged together by this universal language
Yet, it articulated in different manners off our tongues
It was a peculiar merging of two worlds
Yet, mine faded with each passing border of this foreign world

In a foreign land  I find myself surrounded with unfamiliarity
Making me pace a little slower than everyone around me
I couldn’t feel the comfort of the earth beneath me
For a concrete foot path bordered between us
From a distance, a light of hope shone like the morning sun’s first ray
I could see my own reflection approaching

In a foreign land I find myself surrounded with unfamiliarity
A sense of home sinks, calming the storm of butterflies within
As the stranger nears me, I can see clearly my reflection
Hair defying gravity like mine
Skin beautifully embroidered with melanin
Our mother lands were separated by oceans
Yet we were fashioned the same way
Our greeting of a smile creating a home feeling on this foreign land
The parallels between us built a bridge of affinity
For at that moment, I had found refuge among the unfamiliarity

By Bschapau

Leave a Reply

